July 28, 2023: What’s stopping you from being Happy today?

In these hustling and bustling of busy lives, we often forget how time flies by as we grow older. It seems like yesterday I celebrated by 22nd birthday in my college hostel and still talk about it till this very day. I realized, it has been 13 years since, and time isn’t slowing down.

Suddenly when we hit 30, there is a paradigm shift where we start to care a little more about what future holds, start to ensure stability, and think about how we’re going to pave way for our future selves and upcoming generations so we all can be happy. This planning is not necessarily a bad thing and in fact some may say this is where we dawn on the capes of the “responsible” ones. But since when does being responsible start to mean being miserable? When we come to realize that our 30s are the gateway where we blend into this system which is designed to make up unhappy, it is often too late. We want to plan for the future, we cut costs, we save, we work that 9 to 5 we hate, we absorb those pathetic humiliations at work because we need to pay those EMIs, and not realize that the Ferrari we are saving for will be mostly unused or be driven only on that specific commute roads which we loathe with every bit of our blood. Then, to feel OK about ourselves, we will listen to the gyan provided by self proclaimed LinkedIn gurus or life coaches telling us to love Monday mornings or find something that let’s us. Here’s the thing – I need to love every day and every second of my existence because I don’t even know the longevity of it in the grand scheme of things. What’s actually stopping me to be happy today? Why do I need to be happy at 60 and compromise these precious little years knowing I am wasting the best years of my life? What is the problem if I want to be happy today, and then take that momentum to my 60s if I am lucky enough to reach there? I do not want to be miserable till then and keep working because the system has told me to. did nature actually intend us to be this way?

What’s stopping me to be happy today, and what’s stopping you to start LIVING from henceforth?

Author: TPVerse

Just Another Impractical Person in a practical world

One thought on “July 28, 2023: What’s stopping you from being Happy today?”

Leave a comment